I Resolve: Monday Heretic Style

2014

By all rights, I should have abandoned my old blog and started a new one after the new year. But hey, I wanted to post on Mondays, and it’s a cultural construct that the year starts on January 1st anyway. If we always waited for the time we were “supposed” to do cool new things, we’d never get them done.

So here we are. My tentative plan is to post on Mondays and Thursdays. It’s a little dangerous to put thoughts about God out for everyone else to see. (What if I’m wrong? Or what if I’m right and everyone hates me? Does anyone even care what I think? Is it a sin if I don’t capitalize pronouns referring to God? If 58% of Christians pray for Jesus to come back before work on Mondays, does that mean that Jesus is guaranteed not to come back on a Monday morning since no one is supposed to be able to predict when he’ll come?)

But, after having all of these thoughts in about that order, I realized that, really, all theology is amateur theology. (Unless you’re God, in which case I’m so honored that you’re reading this blog and please be sure to leave a comment.)

Calvinresolutions

As we start a new year, here are a few of my New Year’s Resolutions that relate to the purpose of this blog. You should probably join me in some of them, mostly because I’m selfish and hate doing things alone.

  • I will start a new blog about faith and theology. (Whoa, I just did that! I feel so successful!)
  •  I will read nonfiction works written by people who are A. already dead B. important Christian thinkers and C. not C.S. Lewis. (I haven’t done a lot of this in the past.)
Lewis

I actually like C.S. Lewis, although my half-hipster side wants to deny it.

  •  I will not read the comments at the bottom of a blog on a controversial topic.
  •  When I inevitably break this resolution and read said comments, I will not despair and lose hope for humanity.
  • I will think about and study the following Official 2014 Theological Questions: Is being a woman of God different from being a man of God? If so, in what ways? What is Christian fiction, and what should it be?
  • Also, I will chip away at my Unofficial Lifelong Theological Question. (What, you really think I’m going to tell you what that one is? What if you had the definitive answer to it and then I lost all my purpose for living or something?)
    “Why” will become my favorite word ever, and I will ask it a lot. But I will not become an arrogant snob who thinks I’m the coolest thing ever because I can slip words like “exegetical fallacy” into casual conversation.
I searched for "exegesis" and this is what I found. This guy looks thrilled to be studying the Bible.

I searched for “exegesis” and this is what I found. This guy is excited to study the Bible.

  • I will assure everyone around me, but especially any teenagers, that asking questions about faith is a good thing. (The last one I got from a jr. higher was, “What’s the difference between fasting and anorexia?” That was fun.)
  • I will always, always read over anything I write when I’m angry, frustrated, or mildly irritated before posting/sending it.

So, what do you say, friends? Any of these you want to join me in? Let me know so we can pester…I mean encourage each other.

5 comments

  1. Following your theme of Heretical thoughts on a Monday, I give you encouragement with what I like to call the Slurpee Verse:

    Job 7:11
    “Therefore I will not keep silent;
    I will speak out in the anguish of my spirit,
    I will complain in the bitterness of my soul.”

    Speak your mind. Challenge your theology. Ask God questions.

    But then do as Job.
    Listen to God. Listen to his questions. Listen to his answers.

    1. Thanks, T.R. I’ve always thought Job was a pretty cool person and a good example of asking questions. Although he launches into some lengthy monologues. But I guess that’s kind of what blogging is too….

  2. This is good news because that “Be a heretic Monday” post has changed the shape of my week.

    Re C. S. Lewis: okay if you’re not going to read books by him, then how about books about him?

      1. I was given McGrath’s and I had Wilson’s so I quickly read the latter. I’m almost finished with the former and IMO McGrath’s is superior – Wilson’s was published a year before his “Against Religion” so although he now (since 2009) professes faith, he sounds like an atheist in his portrayal of Lewis and occasionally devotes tangents to debating his subject or justifying his coloured interpretation of events – it’s not bad and I’ve probably made it sound worse than it deserves but McGrath’s is good and also recommended by Wilson.

Leave a Reply

