Atheism Update!

A month or so ago, I wrote about how the movie God’s Not Dead rubbed me the wrong way because of its kinda extreme portrayal of atheists.  If you want to get caught up on that, the original post is here.

Who will you side with: the wholesome, intelligent clean-cut college student who is remarkably good with visual aides, or the bitter, hot-tempered professor who dates a student and treats her like dirt?

Here are some helpful bits of information I’ve come across so far, in case you’re interested.

First of all, Phil Vischer! If you can get over the fact that he sounds vaguely like Bob the Tomato from VeggieTales (because he is, in fact, Bob the Tomato), then his dialogue with atheist author Peter Boghossian is a great example of two people disagreeing, but civilly. And also genuinely trying to understand the other person instead of just arguing. It’s a bit long, but play it when you’re doing dishes or cooking or coloring or whatever it is you do. (Actually, any and all episodes of the Phil Vischer podcast come highly recommended.)

If you don’t have time to watch the podcast, check out the blog post that inspired it.

The book under discussion. I might actually read it now.

The book under discussion. I might actually read it now.

This article, “Top 10 Tips for Atheists This Easter” is written from a Christian perspective, clearing up some misconceptions atheists might have about Christians. I’m including it in this update mostly because I like the respectful tone, but also because the last two points are what the author considers the weakest points of Christianity: Old Testament violence and hell. I’d tend to agree with him there. Also, I’d love to find an article similar to this from an atheist perspective. If anyone knows of one, let me know.

Finally, I had a great conversation with a dozen or so people at Taylor University about what religion we would be if we weren’t Christians. (You’d be surprised at the alternative religious diversity we had…nearly all major world faiths were represented, along with a few obscure ones.) I picked agnosticism, which, to me, is the more gray-area, postmodern version of atheism.

The highlight of that discussion was probably the following exchange: “I’m making fun of your fake religion.” “I am hypothetically outraged!”

So, there’s the question of the day: if you were not a Christian, what religion might you belong to, and why? (Hint: it probably has to do with what values you have in common with that religion.)

4 comments

  1. Well, honestly, I would likely be into old-age druidism. I may not be into the theology or liturgies, but I can talk about metaphysics and spirituality all day long. I am also descended from druids, so there’s that too….

  2. In all honesty, probably a nihilist. I can’t see any other purely logical end to materialism/naturalism/objectivism. Of course, I believe that some (most) atheists can (and do) choose to react benevolently or altruistically to the idea that there’s nothing but a silent, shrieking void (such as, for instance, never saying it quite like that), but I think believing in purpose/meaning in the absence of God would require too much mental and emotional compartmentalization on my part. That’s not to say that I cling to God because life would be unbearable otherwise (even though, I think, it would be), but that the “God hypothesis” simply holds more logical weight than the alternative.

  3. Ooooh… hard to say. I have no idea. If I wasn’t Christian, in all honestly, I would probably be the exact opposite. But I don’t even want to go there.
    Loving the hypothetical outrage!!! X-D

  4. After some consideration …probably a Buddhist, because that appeals to my sense of being a dutiful do-gooder (if that’s not a word, it is now 😉 ), my desire for knowledge, wisdom, and self-awareness, and my deep dislike for conflict -even being around it.
    My problem with it is that there is no overriding force in control of everything (because, to me, karma doesn’t count). Come to think of it, I might be a Buddhist for a while, and then switch to Deism.

Leave a Reply

